An Ode to Etsy

I am in love…with Etsy. I got a Pinterest account about 6 months ago, and noticed that a lot of the things I was ‘liking’ were from Etsy stores.

I had obviously filed this away mentally somewhere, as when I was looking online for crafty wedding ideas I  searched for ‘Etsy’ in the hope of finding some gems. Six hours later I emerged from the Internet rabbit hole I had plunged down (think Alice in Wonderland), with dozens of favourite shops, and a mental wish list into the hundreds of pounds.

I will be doing a few posts on my favourite Etsy sellers, as well as showing off a couple of things that I might have *ahem* bought for our wedding already. Before you say it, yes I am well aware my wedding is not for over 500 days…I was in an Etsy Frenzy and couldn’t help myself. I blame Apple. If they hadn’t invented the iPad then it wouldn’t be so easy to shop online. It’s a tenuous link I know, but I’m sticking to it, your Honour.

For those of you that haven’t already guessed, I’m more than a little bit obsessed with bunnies. Our wedding has a literary/wildflower thing shaping up, but I can’t resist the urge to throw in some rabbit motifs. I saw this gorgeous sketch on Etsy a couple of months ago and ‘pinned it’ for later.

Image

Unfortunately it’s seller, Arty Didact (http://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/ArtyDidact), has sold this item. However it has inspired me. Our table numbers are going to be double sided, and I think I may have to have a go at doing my own copycat version of this sketch for the back of them. My fiance probably wouldn’t be best pleased if I covered our whole wedding in bunny related images & items, but I can probably get away with a few subtle (ish!) rabbit-ty bits.

Once I have had a go I will post a pictures of the results, no matter how laughable my effort is!

Big love,

DIY Bride x

Leave a Reply

