A Hoppy Topper…

Forgive the pun please! It’s been a long week, and it’s only Wednesday. At least we are now over the three-day ‘hump’, and it’s downhill to the weekend from here.

I decided to get crafty at the weekend. We are having this beautiful handmade bunting for the top of our cheese tower:

Image

However, I also wanted to have a nod to traditional weddings by having a bride and groom to sit atop ‘Cheese Mountain’ (as I’ve taken to calling it). As per usual, this triggered an unhealthy amount of time spent perusing Pinterest and generally procrastinating. I found a few examples that I liked, and decided to amalgamate a handful of ideas into my own design for a…bunny cake/cheese topper. I know. How amazing does that sound right?

Anywho, I was thinking about what I could make them out of, and I remembered how much I used to love Fimo as a kid of the early 90s. For those of you who didn’t play with Fimo (seriously, call Childline already), it is basically plasticine that you make models out of, and then bake in the oven so that they become hard. If we went to a toy shop I usually asked for Fimo; apart from during my ‘Sylvanian Families phase’ – man I loved those little critters.

I ordered a multi pack of Fimo from Amazon, as well as ordering an extra block of white Fimo – as the bride bunny would be wearing white, ironically enough.

Image

I made the groom bunny first, and to be honest I might have a second go at him. My fiancé, B, said he wanted it to be a brown bunny and I’m not sure if I should have given him a lighter outfit. I am quite pleased with bride bunny’s appearance though.

Here is a pic – let me know what you think:

Image

These might be the first in a series of experiments to craft the *perfect* bunny bride and groom to sit astride Mount Cheese…I’ll keep you posted. Let’s hope that B doesn’t mind having a house full of bunny ornaments?

Happy crafting!

Big love,

DIY Bride x

P.S. In case you were curious, I used these products:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Staedtler-8023-10-Hardening-Modelling/dp/B0002VE2ZQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1393441466&sr=8-1&keywords=fimo

AND

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Staedtler-Fimo-8020-0-Hardening-Modelling/dp/B000N6K69Q/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1393441493&sr=8-2&keywords=fimo+white)

Leave a Reply

