Loki – Birmingham

Recently, I have been thinking about my blog and what I want it to be. As much as I love posting about wedding stuff and DIY projects, I am increasingly finding myself wanting to post about the other things that I like too. That’s where this post comes in. I will be incorporating new types of posts about things to do & place to go in Birmingham, as well as including a few more personal rambles about things that I am interested in. I hope that’s okay with you 🙂

Image

Listen up wine lovers; Loki is the place for you. It is a bit of a hidden gem, located in one of the arcades near Birmingham Cathedral (to clarify: not a gaming arcade; a shopping arcade). Inside it is set up a bit like the cellar door style tasting places that you get in France – well it certainly reminded me of some of the places we went to a couple of years ago while holidaying near Bergerac and Bordeaux. The wine is stacked from floor to ceiling, giving a really cosy feel to the place – if, like me, you find it comforting to be surrounded by wine that is! There are round tables made out of barrels, with metal receptacles on with which to rise your glass out between samples.

Image

 

Image

My first time at Loki was actually a surprise birthday outing from one of my besties for my 30th birthday about a month ago, and we had a great time tasting lots of delicious wine. The premise is that you buy a tasting card and then put as much cash on it as you like – if you don’t spend it all in one trip, you keep it to use next time.The card has a chip in it that you insert into a wine-dispensing machine where you select either a tasting portion, small glass or large glass. All of the prices are shown, as well as helpful tasting notes and ‘top picks’ from the owner. It’s pretty much like a vending machine that dispenses wine, and that sounds pretty perfect to me.

Image

 

Image

After my friend and I had tried about a dozen different wines each, we selected a bottle to share (on which you pay £5 corkage to drink on the premises, or you can take it home to enjoy) and went to the seating area upstairs to have a good natter. They have a good selection of nibbles and we had a cheese plate, some bread & oils, and some of the biggest wasabi peas I’ve ever seen – the perfect thing for soaking up a bit of the wine in our happy stomachs.

The wines change every two weeks or so, and when I went back this weekend I had a whole new selection of wines to try. If you’re looking for something different to do in Birmingham, then definitely give Loki a try. While we were there on Saturday, someone in the group of four that I was with commented on what a good place this would be for a date, and I agree wholeheartedly. 

Image

Big love (and happy tasting!),

DIY Bride x

 

Leave a Reply

