Tulle Pom-poms!

I am a little bit over excited about how awesome pom-poms are. Our wedding venue suite is very much a blank canvas…blue carpet, white walls and light wooden beams. This means that I get to go for it in terms of decoration, and really put our stamp on the place. The colours I am mostly using are gold and white and so far I have made or sourced:

– 40 white paper pompoms in varying sizes

– 200 metres of white bunting 

– 72 jamjars decorated with gold washi tape (blog post to follow)

– about 40 gold glittered tea light holders

– 80+ old library books for table decoration

– a gold and glittered ‘Mr and Mrs’ Sign

– a super cute hessian ‘thank you’ banner.

– LOTS of confetti made out of some of the more damaged aforementioned old library books

Etsy and Amazon are my friends. This brings me to my other project – tulle pom-poms. Mixed in with the bunting and paper pom-poms I wanted to add texture to the decorations with some tulle.

I bought a large pom-pom maker from Amazon (I know you can make them out of cardboard but I couldn’t be bothered, plus with the quantity I was making it would probably have ripped before I was finished), as well as some invisible thread, and white capped drawing pins. I bought lots of white and gold tulle, on rolls about 6 inches wide and ten feet long. I have embarked upon making around 80 white tulle pom-poms, and 60 gold tulle pom-poms. It’s super simple – wrap tulle round the pom-pom maker, snip down the middle, tie tightly with thread, and remove the pom-pom maker…ta-dah: POM-POMS!

IMG_3828 IMG_3829 IMG_3830 IMG_3831 IMG_3832 IMG_3833 IMG_3834 IMG_3835 IMG_3836

I will post a picture of the finished mountain of them when I am done. I can really see my idea of what the room will look like coming together – lots of white, with twinkly lights, candles, and lots of wildflowers and books (and no doubt some bunnies in there somewhere). Excited!

Big love,

DIY Bride x

Leave a Reply

